Wairau take out second grade cricket crown

The victorious Wairau side. Photo: Supplied.

Wairau are the Marlborough second grade champions after claiming the 2019-20 second grade 40-over title on Saturday.

They downed Celtic Green by 58 runs at Horton Park, turning in a convincing performance with both bat and ball.

Batting first Wairau reached 184-9 from their 40 overs, a testing target on a pitch that kept low at times.

Celtic Green struggled to get some batting momentum in reply, being dismissed for 126 in the 33rd over.

Leading the way for Wairau was Cameron Collins who produced a top all-round effort. He anchored the Wairau innings, scoring a patient 69 from 106 balls, with help from Aiden Lavender (24), Max Armstrong (26) and Alex Kennedy with a late 20. Logan Robinson (2-28) and Tom Turner (2-23) were the most successful of the Celtic bowlers, who were backed up by an energetic fielding display.

However, the batting effort was not so positive, Hunter Ruffell (2-16) and Matt Deaker (2-18) knocking the top off their innings, leaving them precariously poised at 43-4. Brad Pope with 21 and Turner with an unbeaten 26 did their best, but Collins bagged three wickets and Kennedy two to ensure there would be no late heroics.



Meanwhile, on Wednesday evening round eight of the SBS senior Twenty20 competition was contested.

Renwick consolidated their position at the top of the standings with two rounds remaining, tipping over Wairau Valley by six wickets. In the other match Celtic all but booked a place in the February 2 final by beating Wairau, also by six wickets.

Again scores were low, with bowlers taking charge, Valley only managing 98 batting first while Wairau could only muster 103. Tom Rawcliffe (24) and Chris Turkington (20) were the best of the Wairau batsmen, Ben Blackman and Jaden Adams bagging three wickets apiece.

In reply Celtic opener Josh Poole took control, the former rep allrounder scoring 69 from just 49 balls to ensure the match was over in the 15th over. Turkington’s 3-26 was comfortably the best of the Wairau bowling.

On the adjoining pitch, Valley opener Tim Abrahams with 27 from 30 balls, plus tail-enders Paul Hickman (12) and Michael Dillon (17) were the only batsmen to reach double figures.

Akhil Pant continued his recent golden run, snaring 3-28, while Rikki Bovey and Ed Gilhooly picked up a brace apiece.

Pant led the reply, scoring a rapid 31, while Joe Timms sealed the deal with 29 from just 11 balls at the end. Matt Stretch and Simon Muir snared a couple of wickets each.

The penultimate round is on Wednesday, January 29.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend