Student sides dominate club hockey finals

Grace Calder, from the Arotea Kiwi women’s side, dribbles the ball to the back line during her side’s play-off match with Emcee on Saturday morning. Photo: Peter Jones.

College park lived up to its name on Saturday when the club hockey finals were contested on the turf.

In a memorable occasion, both senior club titles were claimed by college teams.

The two title deciders were tightly-fought, being settled late in the piece.

Marlborough Girls’ College took out the women’s title, beating Beawai in a thriller. The students prevailed 1-0, scoring the deciding goal in the last minute of play.

In the men’s final, Marlborough Boys’ College scored the winning (golden) goal four minutes into the first round of drop-offs after the scores were level 1-1 at the end of regulation time. MBC scored first, netting following a penalty corner 10 minutes before the end of normal time, then Arotea Muppets forced a PC right on full time, from which they scored to send the game into extra minutes.

The first game of the day was between Emcee and Arotea Kiwi, for third and fourth position in the women’s grade. After another close encounter, the scores were locked 1-1 when the final whistle sounded meaning they share the spoils. Robyn Rowe scored for Emcee, Yvonne Boyd for Arotea Kiwi through a penalty stroke.

The next match featured Go Girls and Masters, who were battling for fifth and sixth position in the men’s grade. It was the girls who took the honours, prevailing 6-2 in a match that began tightly but opened up as the women asserted control.

The men’s grade battle for third and fourth, featuring the losing semfinalists from Friday evening, saw Arotea Kiwi men beat their Beawai counterparts 7-1.

The victorious college teams were:

MGC: Mya Gane GK, Maddie Horton, Lulu Judge, Nikita Gapper, Alice Roughan, Charlotte Westend, Teresa Campbell, Sam Williams, Ella Williams, Georgia Green, Isabella Boon, Bryher Jager, Hannah Chapman, Eleanor O’Connell.

MBC: Patrick Neal, Leighton Le Sueur, Hunter Davies, Kris Godsall, Hugh Pearce, Nick Williams, Joe Westend, Lachlan Mackie, Sean Moran, Gus Varney, George Varney, Declan Phibbs, Logan Lowther, Wade Sweeting, Sam Hamilton, Jack Unwin.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend