President’s grade tennis titles decided

The winning President's Grade division one combination, from left, Warner Nicol, Eveline Apthorp, Lynn Murray and Hugh Robinson. Photo: Supplied.

The 2020 WK+ Presidents Grade tennis competition wound up on Tuesday night with four closely-fought finals on the Forrest Marlborough Tennis Centre courts, the last matches being played under lights.

In division one a tight battle ensued between the Rapaura Masters team of Donna Clark, Pauline Fudge, Tony Fenemor and Hiro Kishida, against their clubmates Rapaura Wairau River, comprising Lynn Murray, Eveline Apthorp, Hugh Robinson and Warner Nicol.

The straight doubles were shared, Clark and Fudge prevailing 9-7 over Murray and Apthorp, then Robinson and Nicol beating Fenemor and Kishida 9-4. The mixed were also shared, but a 9-1 win to Robinson and Apthorp over Fenemor and Fudge gave Wairau Wines a decisive edge in games won. Although Clark and Kishida downed Nicol and Murray 9-6 the overall outcome was a 31-23 win to Wairau River on countback.

Division two was won in decisive fashion by Renwick Netsetters who beat MTC Roger Townley Construction 4-0. However, the overall score did not reflect the closeness of the games, which went Netsetters’ way 9-7, 9-8, 9-4 and 9-7. The winning team comprised Luan Muir, Caroline Cornelius, Adam Balasoglou and Anthony Bowron.

There was also a close tussle in division three where Rapaura Matadors took on MTC Tennis the Menace. Matador came out 3-1 victors after winning both the straight doubles and sharing the mixed. The winning team comprised Karen Nicol, Jenny Stark, Mark Wheeler and Peter Jones.

Division four was taken out by the Renwick Serve us a Double! combination who downed clubmates Rapaura Shiraz 4-0. The winning team was Bronwyn Keown, Anna Simpson, Malcolm Walshe and Jason Anderson.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend