Moutere women come up one game short

Moutere player Leti Fotumoala carries the ball strongly in Saturday’s final at Traflagar Park. In support is Alexa Fraser. Photo: Shuttersport.

The Moutere women’s rugby team’s dreams of a Tasman three-peat were dashed by a polished Waimea Old Boys combination in the final of the Tasman women’s division one competition.

Staged at Nelson’s Trafalgar Park on Saturday afternoon, Waimea prevailed 27-17 in a tightly-contested decider, depriving the Magpies of a third consecutive title.

Moutere scored first through halfback Pippa Andrews, the first of a brace of tries for the livewire halfback.

However three consecutive tries to Waimea saw them race out to a 17- 5 advantage.

A second try to Andrews narrowed the gap before Waimea fullback Bethan Manners scored with just 10 minutes remaining.

A late try to Moutere first five Wai Greig provided consolation for the Magpies but it was definitely Waimea’s day.

It has been six years since they have had their hands on the Tasman Trophy.

Their skipper, Stephanie Mitchell says she was “beyond proud” of her team.

“Stoked, just stoked to be bringing the trophy back home.”

Niska Scott, Moutere manager, said the score did not reflect the tight nature of the game.

“It was a close game … they were always slightly ahead of us but there was not a lot in it. Our girls certainly put it all out there.

“We had some really good moments when we could have pulled tries off but it just didn’t happen. We dominated in the scrums.”

She singled out the front row of Belinda Mataele, Anna Wilson and Kelly Couper for special praise, while Andrews and Greig sparked some of Moutere’s better moments.

Scores: Waimea Old Boys 27 Moutere 17 (Pippa Andrews 2, Wai Greig tries, Hannah Gillespie con).

Tasman trialists

Seventeen Marlborough players have been chosen to trial for the Tasman women’s team next weekend in Blenheim. Kick off 12 noon.

They are (Moutere unless stated): Raumati Rogers (MGC), Kelly Couper, Kate Asplet, Hannah Gillespie, Alexa Fraser, Courtney Stewart, Sinead Travers (Awatere), Pippa Andrews, Leti Fotumoala, Maiden Tupara, Tahlia Tepuia, Aiesha Tepuia, Ripeka Tepana, Jordan Foster, Wairakau Greig, Anna Wilson, Nanise Koro.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend