Hall of Fame grows larger

The 2019 Hall of Fame and Roll of Honour inductees gather together in the Mayoral Chambers. Photo: Peter Jones.

The Marlborough Sports Hall of Fame has 12 new inductees after a ceremony at the Mayoral Chambers in Blenheim last week.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1993, recognises those who have represented New Zealand at full international level, who were resident in the province at the time of selection.

Also acknowledged yesterday were 26 Marlborough Roll of Honour inductees, those who have represented this country at age group level or in special NZ teams.

The annual induction ceremony was hosted by the Marlborough District Council and Sport Tasman.

Hall of Fame inductees

Marcelo Lopes and Gase Sanita (mixed martial arts); Ian Woolley (ploughing); Kirstyn Goodger, Ella Greenslade, Marion Horwell, Robbie Manson, Tom Murray, Harrison Somerville and Mark Stallard (rowing); Janet Udy (squash); (Cameron MacDonald-Pedersen (touch).

Roll of Honour inductees

Paul Sell (aquabike); Martin Fletcher (cycling); Malcolm Dodson (fullbore shooting); Lynne Fitzpatrick, Jo Jones, Malcolm King, George Nation (hockey); Jack Castle, Angus McFarlane, Kobe Miller (rowing); Jacob Morriss, Sophia Wills (smallbore shooting); Nic Dann, Tom Marshall (squash); Jade Otway (tennis); Katie Bradley, Josh Harrison, Todd Nicholas (touch rugby); Caleb Barnes, Jack Bennett, Georgina Dempster, Jack Franklin, Jack Fransen, Riley Gardiner, Alexandra Thom, Nicholas Williams (sailing).

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend