Falcons’ late-season resurgence continues

Keelan Murrell booted three conversions for the victorious MBC side on Saturday. Photo: Shuttersport.

The Marlborough Boys’ College First XV booked a spot in the University of Canterbury Plate play-offs with a commanding 26-0 win over St Thomas in Christchurch on Saturday.

The Falcons’ victory, a fourth in a row, pushes MBC into eighth position on the UC ladder, earning them a semifinal match-up with St Andrew’s College in Christchurch next weekend.

The last time the teams met STAC came away with a 30-24 win.

On Saturday, MBC did the hard yards in the first half. Playing into a strong wind, in what the coaches described as appalling conditions they defended strongly to keep the halftime score to 0-0, setting them up for a second half blitz.

“The boys were absolutely fizzing at halftime,” said manager Ma’ara Ave.

“You just knew we were in for a big second half. They totally dominated from the get-go.”

Coach Matt MacDougall said it was “a really satisfying win”. He added that there “was no-one who didn’t contribute today”, but singled out a quartet for special mention.

Hooker Te Ariki Peipi, returning prop Monu Moli and No 8 Olly Lawson were “outstanding”, both on attack and defence, and paved the way for the other forwards to just concentrate on doing their own jobs, while Liam Duncan continued to shine in the No 10 jersey and bagged a superb solo try.


MBC 26 (Monu Moli, Liam Duncan, Tino Vakaloa, Olly Lawson tries, Murrell 3 con) ST Thomas 0.

Other results

Waimea 25 Shirley 21; Christ’s 55 Timaru 28; Chrsitchurch 36 Lincoln 5; Nelson beat Mid Canterbury by default; Rangiora 31 Roncalli 0; St Bede’s 31 St Andrew’s 3.

Standings, after round robin

Nelson 60, St Bede’s 52, Christchurch 50, Christ’s 48; St Andrew’s 48, Rangiora 39, St Thomas 35, MBC 33; Lincoln 29, Timaru 25, Shirley 22, Waimea 13; Roncalli 8, Mid Canterbury 2.

Semifinals (home teams first)

Championship: Nelson v Christ’s, St Bede’s v Christchurch

Plate: St Andrew’s v MBC, Rangiora v St Thomas

Bowl: Lincoln v Waimea, Timaru v Shirley.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend