Dust off the whites – it’s cricket time again

Pace bowler Nick Weaver was Marlborough’s player of the season in 2019-20. Photo: Shuttersport.

Although the weather seems unable to make up its mind whether we are in winter or spring, the 2020-21 cricket season is suddenly upon us.

Once again, there has been a change to the season’s format for our senior players.

This season starts with the return later this week of the senior grade one-day competition for the Grove Tavern Cup.

Celtic, Renwick, Wairau and Wairau Valley will compete over three rounds starting on Saturday, October 17 with the top two teams playing in the final on November 7.

The 2020-21 Tasman Premier League commences the following weekend with once again the Marlborough Labour Hire Falcons and Dolphins representing Marlborough, alongside six teams from Nelson. This season’s format sees the TPL is reduced from two full preliminary rounds to just one, the seven round robin games followed by semi-finals and the grand final, scheduled for Saturday, February 27.

From late November through to early February the regular T20 competition will be staged, with games on Friday and Wednesday evenings, culminating in a final on Friday, February 5.

The Marlborough senior rep side, under head coach Jarrod Englefield, will again be kept busy.

They start their season with a game against Buller on Sunday, November 1 for the Scanlon/Stretch Challenge Trophy, then head to Nelson for a Newman Shield challenge on November 15.

Then it is up to Napier for the annual Chapple Cup tournament on November 20-22.

Their Hawke Cup qualifying campaign begins with a trip to Rangiora to take on holders Canterbury Country on December 5-6, followed by home games against  Buller (December 12-13) and Nelson (January 23-24, 2021).

Wairau squad: Nick Weaver, Tarin Mason, Alex Kennedy, Chris Turkington, Andrew McCaa, Max Armstrong, Cooper Roberts, Tim Petrie, Hunter Ruffell, Matt Deaker, Cameron Collins, Harry Boyce.

Celtic squad: Jerrym Lamb, Josh Poole, Matt McCormick, John Porter, Andy Fitzpatrick, Logan Robinson, Liam Young, Jayden Adams, Jack Holdaway, James Croker, Matty Bryce, Tom Turner.

Renwick squad: Luke Frankland, Akhil Pant, Sam Solly, Mike Anstiss, Ed Gilhooly, Kirk Nicholas, Cody Golding (short format only), Joe Timms, Blair Timms, Max Brydon, Rikki Bovey, Corey Bovey, Griffin Carter, Hayden Gaudin, Keiran Gaudin, Mark Zillwood, Jacob Zillwood.

Wairau Valley squad: Sam Boyce (co-captain), Matthew Stretch (co- captain), Chris Bartholomeusz, Bailey Andrews-Kennedy, Chirag Jagota, Patrick Moran, Benjamin Ivory-McCullum, Joel Pannell, Tom Sloan, Tom Leonard, Tim Abrahams, Greg Stretch, Patrick Wilkins, Michael Dillon, Luke Pannell.

Falcons squad: Matthew Stretch (captain), Nick Weaver (vice-captain), Sam Boyce, Chris Turkington, Tarin Mason, Chris Bartholomeusz, Bailey Andrews-Kennedy, Benjamin Ivory-McCullum, Cooper Roberts, Andrew McCaa, Harry Boyce, Harry MacDonald, Tim Petrie, Cameron Collins, Max Armstrong, Joel Pannell, Tom Sloan, Patrick Moran, Greg Stretch.

Gains: Chris Bartholomeusz, former Nelson and Canterbury Country allrounder. Moved to Marlborough from Melbourne. Bailey Andrews-Kennedy, Former Otago Country and Southland medium fast bowler. Moved to Marlborough from Dunedin. Losses: Ma’ara Ave, Playing in Palmerston North this season. Joel Lavender, recovering from surgery, due back in the New Year

The Dolphins squad was unavailable at the time of publishing.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend