Dolphins get one over defending TPL champs

Prabodha Arthavidu is clapped off by Horton Park by opponents and team-mates alike after scoring a superb unbeaten 133 against Stoke Nayland. Photo: Peter Jones.

The Marlborough Labour Hire Dolphins claimed a comprehensive and morale-boosting win bonus point over reigning Tasman Premier League champions Stoke Nayland at Horton Park on Saturday.

In a replay of the 2018-19 final, Dolphins batted first and amassed a formidable total of 273-4 from their 50 over complement. They then tipped over the visitors for just 136 in the 35th over.

The Dolphins’ total was based around a superb unbeaten 133 from No 3 batsman Prabodha Arthavidu, the classy Sri Lankan playing shots all around the wicket on his way to his second century of the competition. He hit 11 fours and a couple of sixes, coupled the big shots with sharp running between the wickets as he took complete control of the situation in the middle.

Arthavidu received good support from opener Luke Frankland, who scored a patient 43 from 91 balls and contributed to a 119-run second wicket partnership.

When Frankland departed in the 31st over, Josh Poole teamed up with Arthavidu to add a further 109 runs, keeping their foot firmly on Stoke Nayland’s throat. Poole departed in the 47th over, having scored 56 at better than a run-a-ball as the Dolphins upped the run-rate and put all the visiting bowlers under pressure.

Former Marlborough rep Ben Stark was the most successful of the Stoke attack, claiming an economical 2-30 off 10 before being bowled out in the middle of the innings.

Openers Dylan Eginton and Stark begun the visitors’ run chase with a 50-run opening partnership but when they fell for 35 and 37 respectively the total quickly became very intimidating. Liam Clark and Billy Guyton were run out as Dolphins increased the pressure while Poole completed a fine all round effort by securing five cheap wickets to easily ensure the home team a comfortable victory.

The other Marlborough-based side, the Marlborough Labour Hire Falcons, played WTTU in Nelson and came off second-best, losing by 105 runs.

Joey O’Connor and a belligerent Tom Cross got WTTU off to their customary flyer at Jubilee Park.

They put on 98 for the first wicket, but once Cross was dismissed O’Connor decided to dig in for the long haul. He completed his second century of the season, ending with 118 off 129 deliveries.

Andrew Drummond rounded the innings off with a hard hit 61 off just 48 balls as the visiting bowling attack faltered in the trying conditions. Harry MacDonald claimed a couple of wickets and Matthew Stretch persevered well, but it was tough day in the field for the Falcons who were never really in the hunt with the bat as their top order batting disintegrated to the pace of Sam Baxendine.  At 78-8 in the 20th over it was pretty much game, set and match.  Nick Weaver and Tom Sloan put up some resistance towards the end, but it was all too little and too late.

In the other matches completed, ACOB and Nelson College both chased down small totals, but not without some scares, to keep their title hopes alive.

Dolphins 273-4 (Prabodha Arthavidu 133*, Josh Poole 56, Luke Frankland 43, Ben Stark 2-30) Stoke Nayland 136 (Ben Stark 37, Dylan Eginton 35, Josh Poole 5-12, Tom Turner 2-20). Dolphins won by 137 runs

WTTU 275-5 (Joey O’Connor 118, Andrew Drummond 61*, Tom Cross 34, Mason Thelin 20, Harry MacDonald 2-56) Falcons 170 (Nick Weaver 66, Tom Sloan 41, Sam Baxendine 5/31, Dean Hawley 3/59, Josh Newport 2/32) WTTU won by 105 runs.

Wakatu 135 (Mason Robinson 57*, Jason Campbell 22, Mason Lund 2-9, Kaleb McKay 2-29, Jarrod Mckay 2-34) Nelson College 138-7 (Jonty Raxworthy 41, Jack Morris 31, Flynn Day 28, Campbell 4/18). Nelson College won by 3 wickets

Wanderers/Motueka 141 (Andrew Beatson 37, Max Mannering 34, John Ogilvie 26, Jake Milton 3-28, Thomas Zohrab 3-28) ACOB 144/8 (David Zohrab 24, BJ Barnett 22, Mannering 4-17, L Ogilvie 2-22). ACOB won by 2 wickets


T20 competition

On Friday evening the latest round of SBS senior T20 cricket was played at Horton Park.

Renwick maintained their grip on the competition, completing their third victory across the first three rounds with a comprehensive win over defending champs Wairau.

With Rikki Bovey, 24 from 22, Luke Frankland, 56 from 54, Prabodha Arthavidu, 21 from 18, and Kirk Nicholas, 22 from 19, being the main contributors they amassed 156-6 from their 20 overs, then bowled Wairau out for 122 in the 19th over.

Wairau’s lack of experienced batting was illustrated by the fact the majority of their runs came from three pace bowlers, Tarin Mason, with 43 from 47, Nick Weaver, 23 from 14, and Chris Turkington,    with 34 from 29.

Keirin Gaudin, with 4-27 from his four overs, spearheaded the Renwick bowling along with Rikki Bovey who picked up 3-22 from his four.

On the number three ground, Celtic held off a strong challenge from the winless Marlborough Boys’ College side. Celtic batted first and were held to 106-7 as the students bowled and fielded eagerly.

In reply their chase ended at 100-6, MBC unable to find the boundary over the final overs when they had wickets in hand, thanks to some tight bowling, especially from spinners Josh Poole and Tom Sutherland.

The next round of T20 is scheduled for Wednesday when Celtic meet Wairau and Renwick play Wairau Valley, who have won two from two.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend